Preparing for Departure…in three months

3 May

Hey everyone!

I wanted to write a quick little something to thank those of you who have taken the time to check out this blog before I even leave. I promise it’ll get so much better than the tiny blurb I’m about to give you!

I’ve set up an “About” page, all about what I’m doing and where I’ll be be once my assignment starts. I’ve also built a somewhat annoying (though hopefully informative) “Links” page, full of things you might be Googling anyway. Check those out, as some of your basic questions may be answered there.

So that takes care of business. Welcome to my blog! It still seems like a long way off (to me at least), but things are in the works. I’m definitely going to Korea!

Updates:

This week comprises several doctor’s appointments, so that I can get my bill of health and have coverage while away from home. I’ve also had to fill out several forms about what to do should I go into irreversible coma, or die while on assignment. Lovely. They’ve gotta have all bases covered, right?

I’ve also started to learn a few Korean phrases. Let me be the one to tell you – this is not an easy language! As luck would have it, “Do you speak English?” happens to be very difficult to pronounce. I expect several future posts will center on my deficiencies in the Korean language….

And, just so everyone’s clear and informed, I’m gonna let you in on my rough time line thus far:

  • Right now – Fundraising mode! I have to raise $5000 in order for this little adventure to happen. See Links to find more info!
  • August 8 – Leave Vancouver for Akron, Pennsylvania to start SALT orientation
  • August 23 – Leave for Korea! So long, North America!
  • First 6 weeks in Korea – Language training. Let the games begin.
  • Thereafter – working, living, ‘doing life’
  • Christmastime – MCC retreat to China! Hurrah!
  • July 23 – End of assignment, and reintroduction to Canadian life

Thanks again for visiting! I hope to keep this website as updated as possible, as this will likely be my main forum for keeping everyone informed. If you sign up for my email list, you will likely get the same things I said on my blog, in your inbox. If you want to make sure you’re always totally up to date with all things Deborah, just subscribe to this blog and it’ll come to your inbox automatically! You’ll find the button to the right of your screen. Click it!

Love,

Deborah

For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline. -2 Timothy 1:7

Leave a Reply

