A Good Day to Go To China

21 Nov

A few things to share. In no particular order, here they are:

1) Jin Ju left back to Busan on Friday. I’m pretty sad to see her go, and already miss her! I knew this time would come, as her internship at the KAC was only 3 months, but thinking about and living the new chapter are two different things. Oh well, you gotta cut the apron strings some time, right? In memory of our fun times together, here’s the only “serious” picture I have of us:

Thank you for everything you did for me, chingu!

2) Korean movie theaters are the best. I experienced one for the first time this past week and I have to wonder why it took me so long. Plush seats, reasonable prices, different snack options! (Octopus!) I went on a Saturday night with my friends Doogii and Suah. No one was particularly pumped up to see Upside Downbut I’m afraid I was waaay too pumped up about going to a movie to abandon the plan. (It was the lesser of 4 evils with a horror flick, James Bond and sparkly vampires the only other options.) Actually it was okay, but any movie that starts with an interesting concept not fully explored it is pretty disappointing. (Plus, if it was Science Fiction it seriously lacked in scientific explanation. If it was romance, it lacked build-up and spark.) But enough movie review. While we waited for the show to start we decided to hop into one of the several colourful photo booths available.

Picture of a picture = blurry. The machine counts down 1 minute for you to “decorate” your photos (write on them, change the backgrounds, etc.) after they are taken. We sort of panicked.

3) Thanksgiving is best celebrated three times. Korean thanksgiving: check. Canadian thanksgiving: sort of check (there was pecan pumpkin pie, that’s all that matters). American thanksgiving: as of this past Sunday, check. My friends over at Connexus made the whole traditional feast: stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, bread, jello salad, green salad and delicious roasted chicken (in lieu of turkey). All that was followed up with pumpkin pie and apple crisp. Mmm! Many people were invited so I got to catch up with some and meet many others. My favourite thanksgiving here yet! (Who knows, another one may be hiding around a corner somewhere….)

Thanksgiving Round 3: the most authentic yet! Look at all those beautiful people! (Another photo stolen from Anna’s facebook. Thanks Anna!)

4) China! Some of you may know the difficulties I had in obtaining a Chinese visa. The good news is I got it on time and I’m leaving tomorrow! The itinerary is as follows:

Tomorrow: Walk to bus station and buy a ticket for Incheon airport. Right now this is nerving me out even more than the rest of the trip. I don’t know why. Anyways, from Incheon I’ll fly to Beijing, where I will stay until the 26th. I will be with others while in Beijing.

November 26: Train from Beijing to Shanghai. Enjoy “Dreams of Joy” by Lisa See on the way (the sequel to “Shanghai Girls”. Get it?). Spend a few days exploring the city, even though it will probably rain the whole time I’m there. I have one possible connection there, but if I don’t see her, I’ll sign up for a tour or make friends at my hostel (which cost me $8/night – steal!).

November 29: Train overnight from Shanghai to Shenzhen. Connect from Shenzhen to Hong Kong. Again, I will be staying in a hostel and hopefully meeting up with a friend.

December 2: Fly back to Incheon. Get back to Chuncheon. Sleep. Go to work the next morning.

That is one jam-packed plan, so ready yourself for the jam-packed giant blog post about it!

Prayer Requests:

  • That I make all my flights/busses/trains on time, and that I don’t get too lost.
  • That I retain my ability to think on my toes and remain positive when the going gets tough.
  • Safety! In transportation and land travel.
  • For the other people I’m going to be making connections with. That we would have fun together!
  • For China. I think it’s important to pray for the world. When you think of me this next week and a half, pray for the nation as well.

Till next time folks,

Deborah

2 Responses to “A Good Day to Go To China”

  1. Cary November 22, 2012 at 12:57 AM #

    Hi Deborah! I’m so enjoying you blog! I will be praying for you as you spend the next while traveling – have a great adventure! God Bless You and Keep You and Make His Face Shine on You and give you Peace 🙂
    Love,
    Cary

  2. Natasha November 21, 2012 at 10:56 PM #

    Have fun amica! xoxo

Leave a Reply

